About Us

The Southwest Crisis Center exists to support individuals impacted by sexual and domestic violence and human trafficking.

24 Hour SAFE Line

800.376.4311

Youth Text Line

218.666.8336

Our Scope

The SWCC provides direct services to primary and secondary survivors and victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, sex trafficking, sexual harassment, stalking, and child abuse. We are the initial contact for victims in crisis through our 24-hour safe line as well as through referrals from law enforcement, medical personnel, court administration, and other agencies such as churches, health and human service groups, and mental health centers; many victims also “walk-in.”


There is no age limitations on services. We also have a youth program which is designed to provide services, outreach, and education to youth, families, schools, and communities.


We serve residents of Jackson, Cottonwood, Nobles, Rock, and Pipestone counties who are or have been victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, sex trafficking, sexual harassment, stalking, and child abuse.
 

Our primary purpose is to serve any and all victims who seek our services (unless a conflict of interest is present) but we also serve victims who have immigrant and refugee status (English and non-English speaking). We will give information and/or referrals if individuals do not meet our criteria for services.

Our History

The Southwest Crisis Center (SWCC) opened its office doors in Worthington in 1984 to serve battered women in Nobles, Rock, and Pipestone Counties, later adding Jackson and Cottonwood Counties. The SWCC (then known as New W.A.V, 'Women Against Violence') was an outreach office of the Non-Violence Network of Southwest Minnesota in Marshall. In 1987, the SWCC added the Sexual Assault Program to the services provided. During this time there were two staff to provide all coverage, a program coordinator and an administrative assistant. In 1990, the name changed to the Southwest Crisis Center. The Sexual Assault Program provides services to all victims/survivors of sexual assault, regardless of age or gender. The Domestic Violence Program provides services to women and their children who have been battered by a significant person in their life. In 2014 we added services for youth victims of sexual exploitation and trafficking. In 2020, we added children's advocacy services. 

Meet The Team

0830171600 10.50.25 AM.jpg

Sara Wahl

Executive Director

sara@mnswcc.org

IMG_3648.JPG

Kari Voss-Drost

Assistant Director

kari@mnswcc.org

0719170803 9.33.29 AM.jpg

Allan Bakke

Regional Navigator

allan@mnswcc.org

0824171453a 10.50.25 AM.jpg

Stephanie Darnell

Youth Program Manager

stephanie@mnswcc.org

Dulce Willardson

Child Advocacy Center Program Manager
dulce@mnswcc.org

Tracee

Regional Advocate

tracee@mnswcc.org

Addie King

Jackson County Advocate

addie@mnswcc.org

Marlen Balster

Youth Advocate

marlen@mnswcc.org

Chris Hebert

Finance Manager

Cathy

Nobles County Advocate

catherine@mnswcc.org

Maria Stumpf-Ahmed

 Cottonwood/Jackson County Coordinator

maria@mnswcc.org

marypicture.jpg

Regional Advocate
mary@mnswcc.org

Mary Barron

Alejandra Lopez Solorio

Child & Family Advocate & Finance Assistant
alejandra@mnswcc.org

Kenna Wahl

Administrative & Project Assistant
kenna@mnswcc.org

274586479_5028873727134388_8413030901756652944_n_edited.jpg

Lucy Willardson

Support/ Therapy Companion